Fireside Talks

Fireside Talks are a weekly highlight of Wellington’s cocurricular calendar. Every Monday, we welcome celebrity experts from a variety of fields to inspire, inform and share their knowledge with our community.

Upcoming Talks

  • Mon 27 Sept 8pm: Dr Bianca Serwinski Neuromarketing: how companies tap into and control your subconscious consumer mind.
  • Mon 11 Oct 8pm: Prof Alex Edman The Power of Purposeful Business
  • Mon 18 Oct 8pm: Peter Batchelor Lessons in International Development from Myanmar.
  • Mon 8 Nov 8pm: Zohab Zee Khan I write
  • Mon 15 Nov 8pm: Dr Sara Raimondi Digital technology is changing International Relations… for good?
  • Mon 22 Nov 8pm: Dr Elke Pirgmaier Rethinking economic and social norms to address today’s ecological breakdown
  • Mon 6 Dec 8pm: Owen Slot The Talent Lab: How to Turn Potential Into World-Beating Success
  • Mon 13 Dec 8pm: Prof Michele Gelfand Rule Makers, Rule Breakers: How Culture Wires Our Minds, Shapes Our Nations and Drives Our Differences

Links to watch Upcoming Talks will be emailed out to parents, pupils and staff prior to the event.

Previous Talks

Michaelmas Term talks:

Jon Yates
Fractured: Why our societies are coming part and how we put them back together again.
This talk was screened live on Mon 20 Sept.

Watch the recording HERE.


Emmanuelle Kunigk
Are smuggled migrants culpable, or are they victims?
This talk was screened live on Mon 13 Sept.

Watch the recording HERE.


Summer Term 2021 talks:

Ed Caesar
Why do we climb mountains?
This talk was screened live on Mon 24 May.

Watch the recording HERE.


Natalie Haynes
Pandora’s Jar
This talk was screened live on Mon 17 May.

Watch the recording HERE.


Dr Ed Brooks
Post COVID and Trump: is it time for a new leadership paradigm?
This talk was screened live on Mon 10 May.

Watch the recording HERE.


Dr Jason Hickel
Less is More: how degrowth will save the world
This talk was screened live on Mon 26 April.

Watch the recording HERE (awaiting link).


Lent Term talks:

Dr Arianne Shahvisi, anticolonial feminist philosopher
Why There is No Such Thing as Reverse Sexism!
This talk was screened live on Mon 22 Feb 2021.

Watch the recording HERE.


Raymond Antrobus MBE, British poet
Poetry and Memory
This talk was screened live on Mon 08 Feb 2021.

Watch the recording HERE.


Annabel Croft, former professional British tennis player and current radio and television presenter
Trust Your Instinct
This talk was screened live on Mon 01 Feb 2021.

Watch the recording HERE.


Will Carling OBE, former England Rugby Union captain
My England Days, Then and Now
This talk was screened live on Mon 25 Jan 2021.

Watch the recording HERE.


Ben Saunders, Polar explorer and endurance athlete, in conversation with Will Greenwood (in collaboration with GeoVentures)
Success is Not a Finish Line
This talk was screened live on Mon 18 Jan 2021.

Watch the recording HERE.


Michealmas Term talks:

Dr Pragya Agarwal, behavioural scientist
Sway: Unravelling Unconscious Bias
This talk was screened live on Mon 05 Oct 2020.

Watch the recording HERE.


Andy Grant, ex-Royal Marines
Raise the Bar
This talk was screened live on Mon 12 Oct 2020.

Watch the recording HERE.


Dave Goulson, professor of Biology at the University of Sussex
Averting the Insect Apocalypse
This talk was screened live on Mon 02 Nov 2020.

Watch the recording HERE.


David Olusoga, British historian, writer, broadcaster, presenter and film-maker
Black and British: A Forgotten History
This talk was screened live on Mon 23 Nov 2020.

Watch the recording HERE.


Jason Hickel, anthropologist
Why Poverty Exists and What Can We Do About It?
This talk was screened live on Mon 07 Dec 2020.

Watch the recording HERE.